Core Faculty


Boettiger, Charlotte
Associate Professor
304B Davie Hall
(919) 962-2119
cab@email.unc.edu

Dr. Boettiger studies the neurobiology of cognitive intermediate phenotypes for addictive disorders and focuses on three types of dysfunction along the perception-action cycle: attentional bias towards addiction-related stimuli, aberrant stimulus response association learning, and immediate reward selection bias. Visit her online: CABLAB.


Carelli, Regina
Stephen B. Baxter Distinguished Professor | Co-Associate Chair
115 Davie Hall
(919) 962-8775
rcarelli@unc.edu

Dr. Carelli studies the behavioral neurophysiology of brain reward processing. Visit her online: Regina M. Carelli, Ph.D..


Fitting, Sylvia
Assistant Professor
126 Davie Hall
(919) 962-6595
sfitting@email.unc.edu

Dr. Fitting studies drug abuse and HIV-1 comorbidity by determining the cellular, structural, and molecular mechanisms underlying opioid interaction with neuroAIDS. Visit her online: Fitting Drug Abuse/HIV Group.


Hollins, Mark
Professor | Director of Graduate Studies
102 Davie Hall
(919) 962-2441
mhollins@email.unc.edu

Dr. Hollins studies the biological and cognitive aspects of perception, especially pain and touch. Visit him online: Mark Hollins, Ph.D..


Lysle, Donald
Kenan Distinguished Professor | Chair
126 Davie Hall
(919) 537-3748
dlysle@email.unc.edu

Dr. Lysle studies neuroimmunology, the role of neuroinflammation in opioid addiction, and the development of post-traumatic stress disorder. Visit him online: Donald T. Lysle, Ph.D..


Navarro, Montserrat
Research Associate Professor
119 Davie Hall
(919) 843-4042
mthiele@email.unc.edu

Dr. Navarro studies the brain mechanisms that modulate neurobiological responses to alcohol and is interested in understanding how the brain neurocircuitry changes after ethanol exposure and how these changes can contribute to the transition from alcohol used to alcohol abused.


Picker, Mitchell
Professor
122 Davie Hall
(919) 962-4148
mjpicker@email.unc.edu

Dr. Picker studies the discriminative stimulus effects of opioids, drug tolerance and cross-tolerance, behavior pharmacology, and role of gender and genetics in determining responsiveness to the analgesic effects of opioids. Visit him online: Mitchell J. Picker, Ph.D.


Reissner, Kathryn
Assistant Professor
129 Davie Hall
(919) 843-6885
kreissne@email.unc.edu

Dr. Reissner studies how chronic self-administration of cocaine leads to modifications in cellular physiology and neuronastrocyte communication and how these modifications may contribute to long-term drug abuse.


Thiele, Todd
Professor | Behavioral and Integrative Neuroscience Program Director
117 Davie Hall
(919) 966-1519
thiele@unc.edu

Dr. Thiele studies the neurobiology of alcoholism and the central mechanisms involved with neurobiological responses to ethanol, using both genetic and pharmacological manipulations. Visit him online: Neurobiology of Addictive Behaviors.


Adjunct Faculty


Adjunct Faculty have official appointments with the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience and assist the Department by collaborating with faculty, mentoring doctoral students, or teaching undergraduates.


Brownley, Kimberly
Adjunct Associate Professor | Department of Psychiatry
242 Medical School Wing C
(919) 966-5276
kim_brownley@med.unc.edu


Girdler, Susan
Adjunct Professor | Department of Psychiatry
129 Medical Research Building A
(919) 966-2544
sgirdler@med.unc.edu


Grewen, Karen
Adjunct Associate Professor | Department of Psychiatry
256 Medical Wing D
(919) 966-2544
karen_grewen@med.unc.edu


Johns, Josephine
Adjunct Professor | Department of Psychiatry
424 Taylor Hall
(919) 966-5961
jjohns@med.unc.edu


Kash, Thomas
Adjunct Assistant Professor | Bowles Center for Alcohol Studies
5023 Thurston-Bowles Building
(919) 843-7867
tkash@email.unc.edu


MacPhail, Robert
Adjunct Professor
(919) 541-7833
rmacphai@email.unc.edu


Stuber, Garret
Adjunct Assistant Professor | Department of Psychiatry
4113 Neuroscience Research Building
(919) 843-7140
garret_stuber@med.unc.edu


Affiliated Faculty


Affiliated Faculty have primary appointments outside of the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience. They may be faculty members at other departments, schools, and research units on campus or with other universities in the area.


Malanga, C.J.
Affiliated Faculty | Department of Neurology
6109C Neuroscience Research Building
(919) 966-1683
malangacj@neurology.unc.edu


Robinson, Donita
Affiliated Faculty | Bowles Center for Alcohol Studies
5007A Thurston-Bowles Building
(919) 966-9178
dlr@unc.edu


Emeritus Faculty


Eckerman, David
Professor Emeritus
david_eckerman@unc.edu



Shinkman, Paul
Professor Emeritus
paul@email.unc.edu