Core Faculty


Boettiger, Charlotte
Associate Professor
304B Davie Hall
(919) 962-2119
cab@email.unc.edu

Dr. Boettiger studies the neurobiology of cognitive intermediate phenotypes for addictive disorders and focuses on three types of dysfunction along the perception-action cycle: attentional bias towards addiction-related stimuli, aberrant stimulus response association learning, and immediate reward selection bias. Visit her online: CABLAB.


Carelli, Regina
Stephen B. Baxter Distinguished Professor | Co-Associate Chair
115 Davie Hall
(919) 962-8775
rcarelli@unc.edu

Dr. Carelli studies the behavioral neurophysiology of brain reward processing. Visit her online: Regina M. Carelli, Ph.D..


Elton, Amanda
Research Assistant Professor
303 Davie Hall
aelton@email.unc.edu

Dr. Elton uses functional neuroimaging and behavioral techniques to study cognitive processes involved in addiction.


Fitting, Sylvia
Assistant Professor
126 Davie Hall
(919) 962-6595
sfitting@email.unc.edu

Dr. Fitting studies the effects of drugs, such as opioids and (endo)cannabinoids, in the context of HIV-1-related neurodegenerative processes by determining the cellular, structural, and molecular mechanisms underlying drug interaction with neuroAIDS. Visit her online: Fitting Drug Abuse/HIV Group.


Lysle, Donald
Kenan Distinguished Professor | Chair
126 Davie Hall
(919) 537-3748
dlysle@email.unc.edu

Dr. Lysle studies neuroimmunology, the role of neuroinflammation in opioid addiction, and the development of post-traumatic stress disorder. Visit him online: Donald T. Lysle, Ph.D..


Navarro, Montserrat
Research Associate Professor
119 Davie Hall
(919) 843-4042
mthiele@email.unc.edu

Dr. Navarro studies the brain mechanisms that modulate neurobiological responses to alcohol and is interested in understanding how the brain neurocircuitry changes after ethanol exposure and how these changes can contribute to the transition from alcohol used to alcohol abused.


Reissner, Kathryn
Assistant Professor
129 Davie Hall
(919) 843-6885
kreissne@email.unc.edu

Dr. Reissner studies how chronic self-administration of cocaine leads to modifications in cellular physiology and neuronastrocyte communication and how these modifications may contribute to long-term drug abuse.


Thiele, Todd
Professor | Behavioral & Integrative Neuroscience Program Director
117 Davie Hall
(919) 966-1519
thiele@unc.edu

Dr. Thiele studies the neurobiology of alcoholism and the central mechanisms involved with neurobiological responses to ethanol, using both genetic and pharmacological manipulations. Visit him online: Neurobiology of Addictive Behaviors.


Adjunct Faculty


Adjunct Faculty have official appointments with the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience and assist the Department by collaborating with faculty, mentoring doctoral students, or teaching undergraduates.


Johns, Josephine
Adjunct Professor | Department of Psychiatry
424 Taylor Hall
(919) 966-5961
jjohns@med.unc.edu


Kash, Thomas
Adjunct Professor | Bowles Center for Alcohol Studies
5023 Thurston-Bowles Building
(919) 843-7867
tkash@email.unc.edu


Snider, William
Adjunct Professor | Neuroscience Research Center and Department of Neurology
University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
(919) 843-8623
william_snider@med.unc.edu


Stuber, Garret
Adjunct Assistant Professor | Department of Psychiatry
4113 Neuroscience Research Building
(919) 843-7140
garret_stuber@med.unc.edu


Affiliated Faculty


Affiliated Faculty have primary appointments outside of the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience. They may be faculty members at other departments, schools, and research units on campus or with other universities in the area.


Girdler, Susan
Affiliated Faculty | Department of Psychiatry
129 Medical Research Building A
(919) 966-2544
sgirdler@med.unc.edu


Robinson, Donita
Affiliated Faculty | Bowles Center for Alcohol Studies
5007A Thurston-Bowles Building
(919) 966-9178
dlr@unc.edu


Emeritus Faculty


Eckerman, David
Professor Emeritus
david_eckerman@unc.edu



Hollins, Mark
Professor Emeritus
104 Davie Hall
mhollins@email.unc.edu
Mark Hollins, Ph.D.


Shinkman, Paul
Professor Emeritus
paul@email.unc.edu