Skip to main content

Graduate Students


Barkell, Gillian
Advisor: Dr. Donald Lysle
128 Davie Hall
gillianb@live.unc.edu


Battista, Jillian
Advisor: Dr. Charlotte Boettiger
103 Howell Hall
jillian.battista@unc.edu


Bendrath, Sophie
Advisor: Dr. Todd Thiele
204 Howell Hall
sophiecb@ad.unc.edu

Sophie studies how certain neuropeptides particularly in the limbic system can modulate binge drinking behavior in animal models.


Brewton, Honoree
Advisor: Dr. Todd Thiele
204 Howell Hall
honoreeb@live.unc.edu

Honoree studies the role of astrocyte and cytokine activity in modulating ethanol consumption.


Companion, Michel
Advisor: Dr. Todd Thiele
102 Davie Hall
macompan@live.unc.edu

Michael studies how brain functioning mediates alcohol consumption and what changes in cellular functioning during binge alcohol consumption, especially during early developmental stages.


Haake, Rachel
Advisor: Dr. Regina Carelli
204 Howell Hall
rhaake22@email.unc.edu

Rachel studies the neural mechanisms that mediate reward-related processing and how drugs of abuse can alter this system and lead to addiction.


Harder, Eden
Advisor: Dr. Kathryn Reissner
204 Howell Hall
edenvh@live.unc.edu


Jacobs, Ian
Advisor: Dr. Sylvia Fitting
122 Davie Hall
jacobsir@email.unc.edu

Ian studies the impact of HIV-1 Tat on behavioral constructs such as inhibition, impulsivity, and attention and how drugs which facilitate activity of the endocannabanoid system can help attenuate this impact.


Kane, Louisa
Advisor: Dr. Regina Carelli and Dr. Stacey Daughters
249A Davie Hall | 204 Howell Hall
louisak@live.unc.edu

Louisa studies the translation of non-invasive neural stimulation in rodent addiction models to human substance users.


League, Alexis
Advisor: Dr. Sylvia Fitting
204 Howell Hall
aleague@live.unc.edu


Ngbokoli, Metika
Advisor: Dr. Regina Carelli
204 Howell Hall
mngbokol@live.unc.edu


Paniccia, Jacqueline
Advisor: Dr. Donald Lysle
128 Davie Hall
jpanicc3@live.unc.edu

Jacqueline studies the neural circuitry involved in drug-conditioned immune alterations.


Parekh, Shveta
Advisor: Dr. Donald Lysle
123 Davie Hall
shvetap@live.unc.edu


Robertson, Madeline
Advisor: Dr. Charlotte Boettiger and Dr. Margaret Sheridan
103 Howell Hall
madeline.robertson@unc.edu


Vidrascu, Elena
Advisor: Dr. Charlotte Boettiger
204 Howell Hall
elena91@live.unc.edu

Elena studies the effects of adolescent alcohol binge drinking on future cognition using fMRI and computer-based tasks.


Witt, Emily
Advisor: Dr. Kathryn Reissner
129A Davie Hall
williamsea1@unc.edu